Kevin De Bruyne and Jordan Henderson lead PFA Players' Player of the Year nominees in Liverpool-dominated list

KEVIN DE BRUYNE and Jordan Henderson are the main contenders for the final act of last season.

Liverpool skipper Henderson and City’s Belgian midfield maestro are among the nominees for the PFA Players' Player of the Year for 2019-20.

And all six players on the shortlist are from either Anfield or the Etihad.

Liverpool’s title romp is rewarded with Henderson joined in the elite list by Virgil van Dijk, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Sadio Mane.

De Bruyne’s club-mate Raheem Sterling makes up the six.

The winners will be announced via the PFA’s social media channels on Tuesday evening.

PFA bosses delayed their usual April announcement during the coronavirus shutdown.

But union chiefs were determined to mark the accomplishments of the campaign and continue the annual award, first made when Leeds defender Norman Hunter – who sadly died due to Covid-19 – won in 1974.

De Bruyne was voted the Premier League's Player of the Season after scoring 13 goals and equalling Thierry Henry's record of 20 assists.

Henderson picked up the Football Writers' Association award as he guided the Reds to the league title for the first time in 30 years.

Alexander-Arnold is the favourite to lift the Young Player of the Year trophy – available to those 21 and under at the start of the campaign – to add to his Premier League gong.

In an all-English shortlist, the Liverpool right-back faces competition from the Chelsea duo of Tammy Abraham and Mason Mount.

Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood and Marcus Rashford and Arsenal starlet Bukayo Saka are also among the nominees.

PFA Player of the Year 2019/20 Nominees

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Beth England (Chelsea)

Sophie Ingle (Chelsea)

Kim Little (Arsenal)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Guro Reiten (Chelsea)

Ji So-Yun (Chelsea)

Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Tammy Abraham (Chelsea)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea)

Lauren Hemp (Manchester City)

Lauren James (Manchester United)

Chloe Kelly (Manchester City formerly Everton)

Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City)

Georgia Stanway (Manchester City)

Source: Read Full Article